Essay Prize Award Update

2017 Annual Essay Prize

To be advised.

2016 Annual Essay Prize

The Australian Academy of Law has announced the results of the Annual Essay Prize for 2016. The Competition’s Judging Panel consisted of Professor the Hon William Gummow AC, Professor Rosalind Croucher AM and Michael Murray.

The Judging Panel recommended that the 2016 Australian Academy of Law Annual Essay Prize be shared between Associate Professor Lyria Bennett Moses of the University of New South Wales and Robert Size, a Graduate Lawyer at Hall and Wilcox and graduate of the University of Technology Sydney. The Panel commended all nine essayists who entered the Competition and, in particular, highly commended the essay submitted by Elliott Cook, a Graduate Lawyer at Ashurst Australia.

The essay topic for the Prize in 2016 was as follows:

What effect have the advances in technology (including in artificial intelligence) had upon the discipline of law in academia, the practising profession and the courts, and how may that effect change over the next ten years?

What steps should be taken now to harness the benefits and limit the detriments of those advances?

The winner receives a prize of $10,000 which is believed to be the highest value of any Annual Essay Prize awarded in Australia. The Prize is open to anyone, wherever resident, who is studying or has studied legal subjects at a tertiary level, or who is working or has worked in a law based occupation. There is no limit by reference to the age or seniority or experience of, or position held by, a person who may submit an entry. Accordingly, judicial officers, legal practitioners, legal academics and law students are all eligible. Each year’s winning essays will be published on the Academy’s website and the Australian Law Journal.

A presentation of the Essay Prizes will be made to the winners following the Academy’s Patron’s Address on 18 October which will take place in the Banco Court of the Supreme Court of New South Wales, Law Courts Building, Queens Square, Sydney at 5.30 pm.

Associate Professor Bennett Moses’ essay can be viewed here and Mr Size’s essay can be viewed here.

2015 Annual Essay Prize                                      

The winner of the inaugural Prize in 2015 was Queenslander, Ailsa McKeon. Ms McKeon’s essay was published in the Australian Law Journal (2016) 90 ALJ 355. The article is titled ‘How should academia, the practising profession and the courts assist each other in the education of Australian lawyers?’.  You can also read Ms McKeon's essay here.

Copyright Australian Academy of Law

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software