

President: The Hon Alan Robertson SC, FAAL Deputy President: The Hon Justice Anthony Besanko, FAAL Treasurer: Emeritus Professor Bee Chen Goh, FAAL Secretary & Public Officer: Emeritus Professor David Barker AM, FAAL

> Secretariat & Registered Office Federal Court of Australia Locked Bag A6000 Sydney South NSW 1235 E: <u>AALSecretariat@academyoflaw.org.au</u> T: +61 (02) 8099 8513

ABN: 19127640466

## Prizes and Scholarships Committee Terms of Reference

The Prizes and Scholarships Committee seeks to promote the following Objects of the Academy: (a) Advancement of the discipline of law; (b) Scholarships and research grants; and (c) Promotion of excellence.

The Committee is responsible for the Annual Essay Prize and recommends to the Board:

- The Essay Topic;
- The Judging Panel; and
- Publication of the winning essay on the website and the Australian Law Journal.

The Committee has established the following awards:

- Best Presentation at the Australia and New Zealand Law Honours Student Conference
- Michael Coper Memorial Prize for the Winner of the National Paper Presentation Competition at the Australian Law Students' Association Conference

The Committee meets on a needs basis. There are three members of the Committee, as follows:

Professor Gino Dal Pont (Chair) The Hon Alan Robertson SC The Hon Kevin Lindgren AM QC Stephen McDonald SC