

President: The Hon Alan Robertson SC, FAAL
Deputy President: The Hon Kevin Lindgren AM, QC, FAAL
Treasurer: The Hon Justice G. John Digby, FAAL
Secretary & Public Officer: Emeritus Professor David Barker AM, FAAL

Secretariat & Registered Office

Federal Court of Australia Locked Bag A6000 Sydney South NSW 1235 E: AALSecretariat@academyoflaw.org.au

T: +61 (02) 9230 8953

ABN: 19127640466

The Membership Committee Terms of Reference

The Membership Committee makes recommendations to the Board so that the Board may consider whom to invite to become a Member (Fellow) of the Academy.

By clause 6.1 of the Academy's Constitution, the number of Members is unlimited. As at January 2022, there are some 400 Fellows, including Life Fellows and Overseas Fellows.

It is a role of the Membership Committee to make Fellows aware of what the Committee looks for in the content of nominations.

The Membership Committee does its work by assessing nominations against eligibility for membership: the criterion is that the person is of exceptional distinction in the discipline of law and demonstrably committed to the objects of the Academy.

It is desirable to maintain a balance (this does not imply equality) in the numbers of Fellows across the three main parts of the legal community: academia, the practising profession (including private and public sector lawyers), and the judiciary.

Nominations are essential and it is very important for a nomination to be as comprehensive as possible.

A prospective Member must be nominated for membership by a Member; invited by the Directors to become a Member; accept that invitation; and pay his or her subscription (if payable). Ideally a nomination also has a seconder as well as a proposer.

The fact of nomination is not to be disclosed to the person nominated before a decision is made by the Board so as to avoid embarrassment in the case of an unsuccessful nomination.

The Membership Committee meets approximately four times a year. There are 10 members of the Membership Committee, being:

- The Hon John Digby QC (Chair)
- The Hon Alan Robertson SC
- Emeritus Professor David Barker AM
- The Hon Justice Anthony Besanko
- Professor Gino Dal Pont
- Emeritus Professor Paul Fairall
- The Hon Emeritus Professor Ralph Simmonds
- Mr Glenn Ferguson AM
- The Hon Kevin Lindgren AM QC
- The Hon Pamela Tate SC

The Academy aims to have representation on the Membership Committee from each of the States and Territories.

17/02/22