

ABN: 19127640466

President: The Hon Alan Robertson SC, FAAL Deputy President: The Hon Justice Anthony Besanko, FAAL Treasurer: Emeritus Professor Bee Chen Goh, FAAL Secretary & Public Officer: Emeritus Professor David Barker AM, FAAL

> Secretariat & Registered Office Federal Court of Australia Locked Bag A6000 Sydney South NSW 1235 E: <u>AALSecretariat@academyoflaw.org.au</u> T: +61 (02) 8099 8513

The Website and Communications Committee (WCC) Terms of Reference

The Website and Communications Committee (WCC) has responsibility to the board for the public communications of the AAL, through its newsletters, circulars, reports and other publications, with its website being the prime means of that communication.

The WCC seeks to maintain an accessible and informative website in order to facilitate those public communications, in order to:

- 1. better assist the Academy to promote and pursue its objects as expressed in its Constitution, in particular to enhance an understanding and observance of the rule of law and to provide a forum for debate and exchange of views;
- 2. invite community involvement, including funds;
- 3. offer Fellows a connection with the Academy through a means to communicate and debate internally;
- 4. provide a public forum for the Academy to acquit its governance obligations.
- 5. provide support to the other committees of the Academy being those for:
 - i. Governance: to record publicly governance information of the AAL,
 - ii. Finance: to record details of tax, charity and expected DGR status, and
 - iii. invite donations
 - iv. Membership: to list names and details of Fellows, and new Fellows,
 - v. Prizes: to promote essay contributions and other such items,
 - vi. Events: to advertise and promote AAL events.

Committee Members

- Mr Michael Murray (Chair)
- Emeritus Professor David Barker AM
- Professor Jianfu Chen
- A/Professor Philip Chung
- Professor Melissa de Zwart
- Professor Erika Techera
- The Hon Alan Robertson SC (ex officio)