The Annual AAL Essay Prize


The Australian Academy of Law holds an Annual Essay Prize, with the launch in 2015.  The Prize is open to anyone, wherever resident, who is studying or has studied legal subjects at a tertiary level, or who is working or has worked in a law based occupation. There is no limit by reference to the age or seniority or experience of, or position held by, a person who may submit an entry. Accordingly, judicial officers, legal practitioners, legal academics and law students are all eligible to submit an essay.

The amount of the Prize is $10,000.

In the first half of each year, the AAL will announce the offering of its Annual Essay Prize, providing a different topic for each year.  Please check back regularly as to the announcement of the 2017 Annual Essay Prize offering. 

The Rules Governing the Annual Essay Prize can be found here.

Past Winners

The 2016 Australian Academy of Law Annual Essay Prize was shared between Associate Professor Lyria Moses Bennett of the University of New South Wales, and Robert Size, a Graduate Lawyer at Hall and Wilcox and graduate of the University of Technology Sydney.  The topic of the 2016 Essay Prize was "What effect have the advances in technology (including in artificial intelligence) had upon the discipline of law in academia, the practising profession and the courts, and how may that effect change over the next ten years? What steps should be taken now to harness the benefits and limit the detriments of those advances?"

The winner of the inaugural Prize in 2015 was Queenslander, Ailsa McKeon. Ms McKeon’s essay was published in the Australian Law Journal (2016) 90 ALJ 355. The article is titled ‘How should academia, the practising profession and the courts assist each other in the education of Australian lawyers?’.

Copyright Australian Academy of Law

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software